Menomonee Falls Drunk Driving Attorney
Wisconsin lawyer for OWI, DUI and DWI charges
Drunk driving offenses are complicated and can severely affect your daily life. These charges can affect your criminal record, insurance rates and driving record. In Wisconsin, OWI (operating while impaired) is the chosen acronym for a drunk driving offense. Other states may refer to these offenses as a DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated). If you’ve been arrested for an OWI, you need an experienced and knowledgeable Wisconsin drunk driving attorney to protect your rights.
At McLario, Helm, Bertling, & Spiegel, S.C., our Menomonee Falls criminal attorneys have been defending those accused of drunk driving for decades. We have extensive knowledge of Wisconsin traffic laws, OWI laws and criminal law to ensure your rights are safe and to help you take the best course of action for your personal situation. We’ll fight to reduce your legal penalty, minimize the criminal liability for your offense, and defeat your charge if you were wrongfully accused.
Potential OWI, DUI, and DWI Penalties
It is critical to know the penalties for first and subsequent Wisconsin OWI, DUI or DWI offenses. In most situations, the first OWI offense is a non-criminal violation. First offense OWIs do not involve jail time, but will often result in a monetary fine, 6-9 month license revocation, possible installation of an ignition interlock device, alcohol assessment and 6 demerit points added to your driver’s license. A subsequent drunk driving charge within 10 years of the first is a criminal offense. A second offense results in up to an $1100 fine, 18 month license revocation, possibility for 6 months of jail time and requirement of an ignition interlock device. A third offense results in similar penalties with greater consequences. A fourth offense may result in a felony. Five or more drunk driving offenses result in felonies with significant penalties.
Wisconsin Occupational License
If you’ve had your license revoked or suspended due to an OWI, often you will be able to obtain an occupational license. This restricted license allows you to drive to and from work, school, or other specified places at certain times of the day. Although total driving time is limited to 12 hours a day, the occupational license can at least help you to maintain your standard of living.
Underage OWI in Wisconsin
If you are under the age of 21 and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of anything over 00.00% you can be cited for driving under the influence. Additional alcohol-related charges may include the following:
- Distribution of alcohol to minors
- Minor in possession
- Child endangerment law violations
- Soliciting alcohol
- Possession of false identification (a fake ID)
If you’ve been accused of an OWI, DUI or DWI, it is crucial to contact one of our Menomonee Falls drunk driving attorneys right away to begin building your case. We’ll fight aggressively to defend your rights and reduce the penalties against you. At McLario, Helm, Bertling, & Spiegel, S.C., your rights come first.
If you’ve been arrested for a drunk driving offense, contact our Wisconsin criminal lawyers to schedule a free case evaluation.
Over 60 Years of Results!
8am to 5pm - Monday-Friday